QSLA operates as an active state-wide network of professionals represented within the council and subcommittees.

The council is the association’s main decision making body and is responsible for initiating and supporting projects and activities which enable the subcommittees to enhance the professional development of Queensland teacher-librarians.

The council comprises elected office bearers and councillors from across the state.

QSLA Council

Bernadette Power

Vice President Regions
Marie Miegel, The Glennie School

Margaret Spillman, Mackay West State School

The majority of my 20 plus years as a Teacher-Librarian has been spent at Mackay West State School.

I have loved my job there. It has been a rewarding experience. I have been challenged by the reality of life on a split campus with two school Libraries to operate and maintain but I have also had the privilege of working with wonderful teachers and an appreciative and supportive school community.

Of course literacy skills in their diversity have always been my major focus. Like so many Teacher-Librarians I have promoted Author visits and student participation in Literature Festivals.

But working at Mackay West has presented me with opportunities in many different areas. Early in my career I saw the benefits of working with my public library colleagues from Mackay Libraries; something which continues to this day.

A professional highlight this year has been the Anzac 100 Field of Poppies project. It was personally and professionally rewarding to work with other schools, key sponsors and the Mackay Regional Council.

Treasurer: Carey Leahy, Parramatta State School
Products Coordinator: Jenni King, Brisbane Boys' College
Newsletter Editor: Jannine McGarry, Somerville House

State Councillors

Brisbane: Antonietta Neighbour, Villanova College
Bundaberg: Vacant (enquire for position)
Capricornia: Maree Mortimer
Central Highlands: Vacant (enquire for position)
Darling Downs: Marie Miegel, The Glennie School  (Junior Years) Toowoomba
Far North Queensland: Gabrielle Anthony, St Monica's Catholic College
Gold Coast: Shirley Roser
Ipswich: Vacant (enquire for position)
Logan-Beaudesert: Jenna Cullen, Marsden State High School
Mackay: Margaret Spillman, Mackay West State School
Sunshine Coast: Debra McGhee
Townsville: Mary Hosking