An annual award to recognise and encourage school principals/ school leaders who provide outstanding support for their school library and school library staff.

previous Award recipients

2018: Mr David McInnes, Principal, St Teresa’s Catholic College
2017: Lee MacMaster, St Andrew’s Catholic College, Cairns
2016: Paula Goodwin, Our Lady’s College, Annerley
2015: Judy Thompson, West End State School
2014: Mark Blackshaw, Helensvale State High School
2013: Alan Jones, Marsden State High School


Nature of the award

The recipient will receive an individual certificate. A separate certificate will be presented to the school identifying the recipient by name and stating the reason for the award.

At the discretion of the judging panel an unsuccessful shortlisted nominee may be considered for a commendation award


  • Demonstrates exemplary and innovative support for the school library, the library staff and collaborative school library programmes

  • Promotes and supports the library’s integral role in the school community

  • Includes teacher librarian in school leadership team

  • Supports funding and resource allocations to enable the school library to play an integral role in the teaching and learning of the school.

The school library must have a teacher- librarian.

If no application sufficiently meets the criteria to be deemed worthy of the award, the award may be held in abeyance.