A biennial award to recognise and encourage collaborations and partnerships involving teacher-librarians, teachers and members of the school and/or wider community.   The teacher-librarian must be a current financial member of QLSA by virtue of personal or school membership.

Previous Award recipients

2018: Read Like a Girl Project: Kathryn Schravemade, St Rita’s College; Helen Stower, Mt Alvernia College; Children’s Literature Specialist, Pauline McLeod, Riverbend Books (community partner)
2016: Margaret Spillman - Mackay West State School, TL Network Mackay, Mackay Regional Council, Mackay RSL & sponsors
2014: No award given
2012: Malanda State High School and Tinaroo Environmental Education Centre
2010: Assisi Catholic College
2008: Stanthorpe State High School
2006: Aquinas College
2004: Kurwongbah State School


Nature of the award

Each member of the project team will receive an individual plaque. A separate plaque will be presented to the school identifying the recipients by name and stating the reason for the award.    At the discretion of the judging panel an unsuccessful shortlisted school may be considered for a commendation certificate.

If no application sufficiently meets the criteria to be deemed worthy of the award, the award may be held in abeyance.

Selection Criteria

The application demonstrates a partnership involving the teacher-librarian, classroom teacher/s and/or other members of the school/educational community, and there is evidence of:

  • a collaborative process in the planning and implementation of the project

  • a positive impact on student learning outcomes, e.g. statements from the principal, teachers, students and parents: qualitative and quantitative evaluation data (evidence may be in oral and/or written form)

The project can be seen to have a life beyond the current team members and/ or has potential for broader impact beyond students and the school community

The project demonstrates excellence in teacher-librarianship for others in the profession by identifying:

  • the teacher-librarian as a curriculum leader through the use of innovative pedagogical ideas, resource-based learning strategies and curriculum knowledge

  • the teacher-librarian as an information specialist through the use and integration of such aspects as information literacy, ICT and literacy understanding.